Safford, Foley Garner All-NECC Women’s Lacrosse Honors

Safford, Foley Garner All-NECC Women’s Lacrosse Honors

MARSHFIELD, Mass. – The New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) announced its 2019 women's lacrosse all-conference teams this week with a pair of Southern Vermont College student-athletes collecting accolades.

Sophomore Alex Safford (Burnt Hills, N.Y.) was named to the NECC All-Second Team while junior Jess Foley (Wrentham, Mass.) was selected for the Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team.

Safford's honor comes after she was the league's Rookie of the Year and an All-First Team member in 2018. She tallied 23 goals through the Conference season while adding three assists, 13 ground balls, nine draw controls, and eight caused turnovers to her sheet.

"Alex has been a true leader on the field for us all season," said first-year SVC head coach Paxton Boyer. "She has been able to produce in tough situations—whether that is goals, assists, or draw controls. I've challenged her this season by having her play all over the field, and she has adapted to every position and kept us in the game on more than one occasion. I am extremely proud of her and what she has accomplished this year. She is very deserving of this accolade."

Foley didn't only have a breakout year in the statistical categories, but she continued to play the game with positivity and an infectious demeanor which spread throughout the team. She scored her first career goal during the 2019 campaign, and she also had 27 ground balls and 11 caused turnovers in her junior year.

"Throughout the season, Jess has shown up to practices and games with a smile on her face and with a great attitude," Boyer said. "She has carried that into games where she continually tried to strike up conversations with the opposing team while not being involved in the action. Her goofy personality can brighten up anyone's day. I am very excited that Jess is receiving this honor."

League coaches voted on the all-NECC teams and top awards prior to the start of the postseason tournament.

2019 NECC Women's Lacrosse Major Awards & All-Conference Teams

NECC Player of the Year – Tara Bainbridge, New England College
NECC Goalkeeper of the Year – Nikolle Storey, Becker
NECC Rookie of the Year – Clare Conway, Becker
NECC Coach of the Year – Ashley Mossey, Becker

All-First Team
A – Tara Bainbridge, New England College
A –  Clare Conway, Becker
A – Alana Scott, New England College
A – Vanessa Vurno, Elms
M – Haley Richard, Elms
M – Cassandra Nelson, Becker
M – Kate McCormack, Mitchell
M – Lauren Rich, New England College
D – Kylian Kelly, Becker
D – Kaitlyn Berry, New England College
D – Giuliana Kevlin, New England College
GK – Nikolle Storey, Becker

All-Second Team
A – Julia Ravenelle, Becker
A – Arianna Calouro, Becker
A – Sofia Castriotta, New England College
A – Reilly Jodoin, Elms
M – Alex Safford, Southern Vermont
M – Tailor Chapin, New England College
M – Francesca Pinard, Mitchell
M – Megan McKenna, Bay Path
D – Hannah Corrigan, Mitchell
D – Erienne Dowe, Elms
D – Alyssa Barnes, Elms
GK – Emily Huber, Elms

Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team
Alyssa Tursi, New England College
Caitlin Esposito, Bay Path
Sydney Theriault, Becker
Brooke Chisholms, Elms
Lindsey Fairbanks, Mitchell
Jess Foley, Southern Vermont
Maggie Pomeroy, Dean