Hudson Selected to 2019 NECC Women’s Basketball Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team

brenna hudson, NECC logo, SVC Athletics logo, and text:

MARSHFIELD, Mass. – The New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) announced on Tuesday its 2019 women's basketball all-conference squads and major award winners with Southern Vermont College sophomore Brenna Hudson (Malone, N.Y.) being selected to the league's Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team.

Hudson made 24 appearances in the regular season with 20 of those being starts for the Mountaineers. She cracked double digits in the points column twice while posting a 43.9 field goal percentage on the year. Hudson averaged 3.2 rebounds per game in the post with almost half of those being on the offensive end of the floor.

More important than her stat sheet, however, was how the sophomore carried herself off the court and how she acted between the whistles.

"Brenna is an excellent competitor and has always done so with class," said SVC second-year head coach Christin Gowan. "She gives her best effort at all times; she is coachable and reliable. I am excited about her future and seeing what she can accomplish in her upcoming years at Southern Vermont."

The all-NECC teams and top awards were voted on by league coaches after the conclusion of the regular season and prior to the start of the championship tournament.

2019 NECC Women's Basketball All-Conference Teams & Major Award Winners

NECC Player of the Year – Rene Hudson, New England Col. (Jr., G, Gallatin, Tenn.)
NECC Defensive Player of the Year – Shannon Chau, Eastern Nazarene (Jr., G, San Francisco, Calif.)
NECC Rookie of the Year – Amina Wiley, Mitchell (Fr., F., New Rochelle, N.Y.)
Coach of the Year – Courtney Burns, Mitchell

All-NECC First Team
Iindia Pina, Dean (Sr., G, Carver, Mass.)
Makayla Rudder, Dean (Fr., G/F, Springfield, Mass.)
Kyra Fleharty, Eastern Nazarene (Jr., F, Lewistown, Mont.)
Amina Wiley, Mitchell (Fr., F, New Rochelle, N.Y.)
Rene Hudson, New England Col. (Jr., G, Gallatin, Tenn.)

All-NECC Second Team
Adrianna Dowdy, Becker (Sr., F, East Haven, Conn.)
Cassidy Harrison, Becker (Jr., G, Foxborough, Mass.)
Ciara McKissick, Becker (Sr., F, Charlton, Mass.)
Dakota Jones, Lesley (Jr., F, Torrance, Calif.)
Jaymesha Sanders, Newbury (So. F, West Haven, Conn.)

All-NECC Third Team
Tia Torio, Eastern Nazarene (Sr., G, Manteca, Calif.)
Kelsey Hernandez, Mitchell (Jr., G, New Britain, Conn.)
Le'Sandra Turner, Mitchell (Fr., G, New Rochelle, N.Y.)
Kayla Goldring, New England Col. (Fr., F, Hollywood, Md.)
Jaz Laracuente, New England Col. (Jr., G, Dorchester, Mass.)

Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team
Samantha Drapinski, Bay Path (Sr., F, Malden, Mass.)
Sarah Ware, Becker (Jr., F, Oakham, Mass.)
Makayla Rudder, Dean (Fr., G/F, Springfield, Mass.)
Emma Farrow, Eastern Nazarene (Sr., F, Blanchester, Ohio)
Regina LeBlanc, Elms (So., G, Enfield, Conn.)
Theresa Pereira, Lesley (Gr., G, Hopedale, Mass.)
Ramzie Jones, Mitchell (Fr., F, East Hartford, Conn.)
Haleigh Martin, New England Col. (Jr., G, Bergenfield, N.J.)
Taylor Kelley, Newbury (Sr., G, North Billerica, Mass.)
Brenna Hudson, Southern Vermont (So., F, Malone, N.Y.)