Wilson, Jarosz Represent SVC on All-NECC Softball Squads

shea wilson & taylor jarosz represent SVC on the all-necc softball teams

ATTLEBORO, Mass. – The New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) announced on Monday its 2017 softball major award winners and all-league teams with a pair of Southern Vermont College student-athletes earning honors.

SVC junior outfielder Shea Wilson (Mesa, Ariz.) was chosen to the All-NECC Third Team while freshman outfielder Taylor Jarosz (Karaganda, Kazakhstan) collected a spot on the NECC All-sportsmanship Team.

Wilson—in just her first year at Southern Vermont—ranked highly among many of the Mountaineers' offensive categories to help them get back to the NECC playoffs for just the second time in team history. Against league opponents, Wilson was second for SVC in hits (20) and batting average (.385) while sitting tied for second in on base percentage (.431). She proved to be one of the toughest players to strikeout in all of NCAA Division III—joining just eight others around the country who had not struck out a single time as of Monday.

"Shea was a huge part of our team this year," said first-year SVC head coach Paige Gage. "She came up big with timely hits, but what was most impressive with her was that she went the entire season without striking out. She gave her all no matter what position she was playing for us, and I'm excited to see what she has in store for us next season."

Jarosz provided a spark of enthusiasm from both the outfield and various spots of Southern Vermont's lineup in her freshman campaign while giving complete effort throughout the season; the latter was displayed perfectly in the Mountaineers' final game of the regular season when she went toppling over the fence to rob a home run in the final inning of a 14-0 loss. Jarosz scored nine runs throughout the year, tallied a pair of doubles, and swiped two bags on the base paths.

"Taylor had an incredible amount of energy and brought a positive attitude everywhere she went," Gage said of her rookie outfielder. "You can hear her cheering from the outfield. She was definitely a pleasure to coach, and we're excited to have her and her energy for the next three years."

Coaches from around the NECC nominate their players for the league's major awards and all-Conference teams, and they then vote for each of the top accolades and all-NECC crews before the start of the postseason tournament.


NECC 2017 Softball Major Awards Winners & All-Conference Teams 

Player of the Year: Lauren Vallee, Bay Path
Pitcher of the Year: 
Madi McLellan, Regis 
Rookie of the Year: 
Arianna Gooden, Newbury 
Coach of the Year: 
Caitlin Benyi, Newbury 

First Team
1B – Jordan Raab, Lesley (So., Rochester, N.H.)
2B – Courtney Goggin, Lesley (Jr., Cheshire, Conn.)
3B – Carlyn Barker, Lesley (Sr., Temecula, Calif.)
SS – Lauren Vallee, Bay Path (Jr., Bristol, Conn.)
C – Noelle Sass, Newbury (So., Randolph, Mass.)
P – Madi McLellan, Regis (Fr., Fremont, N.H.)
P – Sarah Bushman, Lesley (Fr., Fr., Aurora, Colo.)
OF – Mekenzi Golden, Lesley (Sr., Laguna Niguel, Calif.)
OF – Arianna Gooden, Newbury (Fr., Bakersfield, Calif.)
OF – Theresa Pereira, Lesley (Jr., Hopedale, Mass.)
DP – Erin O'Donnell, Elms (So., Glenmont, N.Y.) 

Second Team
1B – Ashley Ciepiela, Becker (Sr., Adams, Mass.)
2B – Samantha DelConte, Mitchell (Jr., Enfield, Conn.)
3B – Elizabeth Olszewski, Elms (Jr., Canterbury, Conn.)
SS – Brianna Napoleone, Regis (So., Medford, Mass.)
C – Ally Murphy, Lesley (Fr., Raynham, Mass.)
C – Alexa Nejaime, Regis (Jr., Sandisfield, Mass.)
P – Samantha Lee, Becker (Jr., Prospect, Conn.)
P – Alina Milauskas, Newbury (So., Elkridge, Md.)
OF – Allie Petillo, Regis (So., West Sayville, N .Y.)
OF – Naomi Ricciotti, Newbury (Sr., Phoenix, Ariz.)
OF – Catharine Wrang, Elms (So., Middletown, Conn.)
DP – Amanda Navarro, Regis (Jr., Stoneham, Mass.) 

Third Team
1B – Katelyn Sylvia, Elms (Fr., Southwick, Mass.)
2B – Rebecca Carkhuff, Becker (Jr., Amherst, Mass.)
3B – Allison Caloggero, Regis (Sr., Medford, Mass.)
SS – Suzanne Vachon, Mitchell (So., East Hartford, Conn.)
P – Tessa Cote, Elms (Sr., Granby, Mass.)
P – Mallory Stefan, Newbury (Fr., Thornton, Colo.)
OF – Vasia Murphy, Becker (So., OF, Dracut, Mass.)
OF – Shea Wilson, Southern Vermont (Jr., Mesa, Ariz.)
OF – Jailinne Ruiz, Bay Path (So., Hadley, Mass.)
DP – Katie Walsh, Wheelock (So., East Islip, N.Y.) 

All-sportsmanship Team
Marissa Sarna-McCarthy, Bay Path (So., 1B, Westhampton, Mass.)
Jennifer Boxell, Becker (Jr., OF, Marlborough, Mass.)
Katie Banta, Daniel Webster (Fr., C, Oakdale, Conn.)
Katelyn Sylvia, Elms (Fr., 1B, Southwick, Mass.)
Allyson Nisbet, Lesley (Sr., INF/P, Clovis, Calif.)
Imani Mays, Mitchell (Sr., OF, Stratford, Conn.)
Naomi Ricciotti, Newbury (Sr., OF, Phoenix, Ariz.)
Brianna Napoleone, Regis (So., Medford, Mass.)
Taylor Jarosz, Southern Vermont (Fr., OF, Karaganda, Kazakhstan)
Samanth Leahon, Wheelock (So., OF, Castleton, N.Y.)