Track & Field’s Santiago-Rodriguez Selected to NECC Sportsmanship Team

Track & Field’s Santiago-Rodriguez Selected to NECC Sportsmanship Team

MARSHFIELD, Mass. – The New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) announced its 2019 all-conference teams and major award winners for the 2019 track and field season earlier this week. Among those collecting accolades was Southern Vermont College sophomore Omar Santiago-Rodriguez (Stanfordville, N.Y.).

Santiago-Rodriguez was selected to represent SVC on the Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team after his first year participating in track and field.

“Omar deserves the sportsmanship award because he respected the sport and his competitors—despite being so new to it,” said Southern Vermont head coach Jarrett Blankenship. “He would consistently congratulate his fellow competitors on their performance, and I couldn’t be more proud of his work ethic throughout the season.”

Santiago-Rodriguez notched personal bests in almost every meet he entered into—including the NECC Championships where he finished the 400 meter dash in under a minute to break his previous record with a time of 58.73 seconds.

2019 was the first year that the NECC recognized all-conference teams and major award honorees. The awards were voted on by league coaches after the championship event.


2019 NECC Track & Field Major Awards & All-Conference Teams

NECC Track Athlete of the Year – Geralson Withrow, Newbury
NECC Field Athlete of the Year – Jarrod Smith, Newbury
NECC Track and Field Rookie of the Year – Travelis Mosely, Eastern Nazarene
Coach of the Year – Henry Morales, Newbury

2019 Men's Track & Field All-NECC Team
100-meter: Travelis Moseley, Eastern Nazarene College
200-meter: Travelis Moseley, Eastern Nazarene College
400-meter: Andrew Kalombo, Newbury College
800-meter: Geralson Withrow, Newbury College
1500-meter: Kevin Rodrigues, Eastern Nazarene College
5000-meter: Geralson Withrow, Newbury College
10000-meter: Geralson Withrow, Newbury College
110-meter Hurdles: Joel Piercey, Eastern Nazarene College
400-meter Hurdles: Jarrod Smith, Newbury College
3000-meter Steeplechase: Anthony Crocco, Newbury College
4x100-meter Relay: Eastern Nazarene College; Ralph Tima, Travelis Moseley, Jaeden Ortiz, Shawn Wright
4x400-meter Relay: Eastern Nazarene College; Jaeden Ortiz, Ralph Tima, Kevin Rop, Travelis Moseley,
4x800-meter Relay: Newbury College; Geralson Withrow, Anthony Crocco, Joan Guzman, David Jean
High Jump: Rory Dobbins, Newbury College
Long Jump: Mike Fleming, Lesley University
Triple Jump: Jarrod Smith, Newbury College
Shot Put: Robert Jean Charles, Elms College
Discus: Rory Dobbins, Newbury College
Javelin: Rene Lahens, Newbury College

2019 Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team
Matthew Mansaray, Eastern Nazarene College
Isaiah McKinley-Jones, Elms College
Will Erwin, Lesley University
Nicholas Luciano, Newbury College
Omar Santiago-Rodriguez, Southern Vermont College