O’Dell Named to NECC Men’s Volleyball All-Sportsmanship Team

O’Dell Named to NECC Men’s Volleyball All-Sportsmanship Team

MARSHFIELD, Mass. – The New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) announced on Tuesday its major award winners and all-conference teams for the 2019 season. Southern Vermont College sophomore Skylar O'Dell (Bennington, Vt.) was selected to represent the Mountaineers with a spot on the Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team.

O'Dell played in all 22 matches and 73 sets for SVC this year and took on the task of changing positions to be the team's libero for the second leg of the season. He amassed 87 digs and 22 kills on the campaign with 56 of those digs and 12 of the kills coming against Conference opponents.

"Skylar has represented the core values of our program amazingly over the past two years," said SVC second-year head coach Pat Robidoux. "His eagerness to improve, sportsmanship, accountability, and team-first attitude make him the perfect candidate for this award."

The league's top accolades and all-conference teams were voted on by NECC coaches after the conclusion of the regular season and prior to the start of the championship tournament.

2019 NECC Men's Volleyball All-Conference Teams & Major Award Winners

Player of the Year: Jeremy Torres, Elms
Defensive Player of the Year: Ryan Healy, Endicott
Rookie of the Year: Lance Law, Nichols
Coach of the Year: Sheila Gisbrecht, Elms

Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team
Skylar O'Dell, Southern Vermont
Chadd Pelletier, Dean
Danny Blue, Eastern Nazarene
Tyler Porcello, Elms
Donovan Dey, Endicott
Owen Simpson, Lesley
Alvin Fernandes, Newbury
Oscar Chavez, Nichols

All-NECC First Team
Jeremy Torres, Elms
Jovanny Torress, Elms
Bryn Lipton, Endicot
Donovan Dey, Endicott
Jeremy Doski, Endicott
Lance Law, Nichols

All-NECC Second Team
John Dunphy, Elms
Carlos Mercado, Elms
Jake Johnson, Elms
Seth Braquett, Endicott
Rory Dobbins, Newbury
Ray Wang, Nichols