Men's Volleyball Selected No. 4 for ECAC DIII Championship

Men's Volleyball Selected No. 4 for ECAC DIII Championship

BENNINGTON, Vt. — The Southern Vermont College men's volleyball season is not over yet as the Mountaineers have been selected to play in this weekend's Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Division III Championship as the No. 4 seed, as announced by the league on Monday.

SVC will enter the one-day tournament with a 16-10 overall record after falling in the New England Collegiate Conference semifinals. The Mountaineers will take on top-seeded Wentworth Institute of Technology (22-8) at 1 p.m. on Saturday in the second semifinal. Hosting Stevenson University, No. 2 in the bracket, will face-off with No. 3 Hunter College at 11 a.m. to start the day, and the two semifinal winners will then battle for the title at 3 p.m. at Stevenson.

"I'm very happy for the guys, especially the seniors who get to play one more time," commented SVC interim head coach Stephanie Perna. "I'm also excited to have one more challenge in my interim coaching season. I'm not shocked that we were selected. These guys are a great team, and it's obviously shown throughout the season. They really deserve this."

This is Southern Vermont's first-ever program berth to the ECAC tournament and fourth for any Mountaineer team. It comes on the heels of the SVC men's basketball team winning the College's first-ever ECAC Championship back in early March.

The ECAC is the nation's largest and only multi-divisional conference with approximately 300 Division I, II and III colleges and universities from Maine to South Carolina and westerly to Missouri. Established in 1938 under the leadership of inaugural Commissioner Asa S. Bushnell and 58 charter members, the ECAC has since emerged as the nationwide leader in service. The ECAC headquarters relocated from Centerville, Mass. to the Matrix Corporate Center in Danbury, Connecticut in July of 2014. The ECAC administers nearly 100 championships for 32 men's and women's sports. The ECAC also serves as the primary league for Division III men's hockey (3), Division III women's hockey (2), Division II field hockey, and Division II men's lacrosse.