Mercuri, Banks Named to All-NECC Baseball Teams

Mercuri, Banks Named to All-NECC Baseball Teams

ATTLEBORO, Mass. – The New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) announced on Tuesday its major award winners and all-Conference teams for the 2017 baseball season with a pair of Southern Vermont College student-athletes garnering accolades.

Senior designated hitter Anthony Mercuri (Ridge, N.Y.) was named to the All-NECC Second Team for his performance with the bat while freshman Jordan Banks (Bristol, Conn.) was selected to represent SVC on the All-sportsmanship Team.

Mercuri tallied a .341 batting average against league opponents while adding a .362 on base percentage versus the NECC; his slugging percentage of .591 was the seventh best among Conference hitters. The senior broke the school record of most runs batted in during a single game when he tallied eight RBI's on April 3 against Newbury College—leading to his selection on the Team of the Week on April 11.

"I am excited to see Anthony being honored by the Conference," said fifth-year SVC head coach Dave Gage '10. "His presence in the lineup was an important role for our team this year. He worked hard on his craft and deserves this honor."

Banks appeared in 16 games for the Mountaineers in 2017 with the majority of those seeing him be a defensive replacement at first. He made just one error at the corner in 48 total chances for a .979 fielding percentage—all while keeping a positive attitude in the dugout and supporting his teammates throughout the year.

"Jordan did a tremendous job accepting his role this season and helping the program in more ways than a box score may show," Gage said of his rookie. "The sportsmanship honor is something he should be very proud of."

Coaches from around the NECC nominate their players for the league's major awards and all-Conference teams, and they then vote for each of the top accolades and all-NECC crews before the start of the postseason tournament.


NECC 2017 Baseball Major Awards Winners & All-Conference Teams 

Player of the Year: Garet Griffin, Mitchell 
Pitcher of the Year: Ethan Forrest, Newbury
Rookie of the Year: Matt Plasse, Elms
Coach of the Year: Billy Cather, Lesley 

First Team
1B – Francis Prettitore, Mitchell (Sr., Bayville, Conn.)
2B – Kyle Hartenstein, Mitchell (Jr., Meriden, Conn.)
3B – Tim Gelzinis, Elms (Sr., North Dighton, Mass.)
SS – Garet Griffin, Mitchell (Jr., Moosup, Conn.)
C – Dan Mullins, Daniel Webster (So., Nashua, N.H.)
P – Matt Plasse, Elms (So., Westfield, Mass.)
P – Jacob Graveline, Elms (Fr., Palmer, Mass.)
P – Tom Muratore, Lesley (Jr., Mamaroneck, N.Y.)
P – Ethan Forrest, Newbury (Sr., East Bridgewater, Mass.)
OF – Josiah Shepherd, Becker (Jr., Providence, R.I.)
OF – Stephen Harrison, Elms (Sr., Southbury, Conn.)
OF – Ian Hruniak, Newbury (Sr., Litz, Fla.)
DH – Niko Bedell, Becker (Sr., Manorville, N.Y.) 

Second Team
1B – Ryan Pumphret, Lesley (So., Shrewsbury, Mass.)
2B – Vaibhav Desai, Becker (Sr., Waltham, Mass.)
3B – TJ Sempkowski, Becker (Oceanport, N.J.)
SS – Chris Testa, Becker (Jr., Providence, R.I.)
C – Jacob Cervantes, Lesley (So., Oxnard, Calif.)
P - Tyler Wagar, Becker (Sr., Uxbridge, Mass.)
P – Nick Ladevaio, Lesley (Jr., Mineola, N.Y.)
P – Axel De Jesus, Mitchell (Sr., Stratford, Conn.)
P – Eddie Santiago, Mitchell (Jr., New London, Conn.)
OF – Aedin Wadja, Elms (Sr., Lebanon, Conn.)
OF – Alex Hoss, Elms (So., Stafford Springs, Conn.)
OF – Tristan Hurley, Mitchell (Sr., Mystic, Conn.)
DH – Anthony Mercuri, Southern Vermont (Sr., Ridge, N.Y.) 

All-sportsmanship Team
Michael Bianco, Becker (Fr., 3B, Manorville, N.Y.)
Dylan McDonough, Daniel Webster (Jr., C, Billerica, Mass.)
Cody Lemieux, Elms (Sr., P, Torrington, Conn.)
Aaron Rhodes, Lesley (Jr., INF, Chittenden, Vt.)
Mike Jason, Mitchell (Sr., OF, Chepachet, R.I.)
Jim McGrorry, Newbury (Jr., P/INF, Oakhurst, N.J.)
Jordan Banks, Southern Vermont (Fr., 1B, Bristol, Conn.)