Stacey, Whitman Named 2017 SVC Sportspeople of the Year with Borders, Lesure Awarded as Top Scholar-athletes During Annual Banquet

Stacey, Whitman Named 2017 Southern Vermont Sportspeople of the Year with Borders, Lesure Awarded as Top Scholar-athletes During Annual Banquet

BENNINGTON, Vt. – Last Monday, the Southern Vermont College Department of Athletics held its annual end-of-the-year banquet as the 12 varsity teams celebrated their seasons, major awards were handed out, and the SVC/Saint Joseph College Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2017 was inducted.





Collecting the 2017 Scott McKenzie Sportsman of the Year Award was baseball sophomore Zack Stacey (Saratoga, N.Y.) while senior Shelby Whitman (Bennington, Vt.)—a captain for both the women’s cross country and outdoor track & field teams—took home the 2017 Scott McKenzie Sportswoman of the Year Award.

Men’s basketball sophomore Josh Borders (Miami, Fla.) was named the 2017 Mountaineer Male Scholar-athlete of the Year, and dual-sport athlete Emily Lesure (Cheshire, Mass.)—a member of the women’s cross country team and a captain for the women’s lacrosse squad—was honored as the 2017 Mountaineer Female Scholar-athlete of the Year.

Making up the SVC/SJC Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2017 were Erin Potter (McEnaney)—SVC Class of 2001—and Nick Haggerty—SVC Class of 2012. Potter was a member of the women’s cross country team while Haggerty played for both the men’s soccer and men’s volleyball programs as a Mountaineer.

The Scott McKenzie Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year, named after the former SVC head coach and member of the SVC/SJC Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2013, is presented annually to an individual who is all-inclusive in all aspects of the SVC athletics community with the strongest focus being on performance. Aside from performance, the other attributes that play a very important role in receiving the award are sportsmanship and leadership—both on and off the field, court, or course.

Stacey had another terrific season for the Southern Vermont baseball crew as he amassed a team-leading 36 hits to register a .321 batting average. He had a .422 on base percentage, swiped nine bags, scored 24 runs, and knocked in another 18 runs. The sophomore broke the team’s hitting streak record—finishing his run at 19-consecutive games.

Whitman capped a stellar career at SVC this past year on both the cross country course and then the track in the spring. She made her way to her third-straight All-New England Collegiate Conference Team for women’s cross country in the fall to help the Mountaineers finish second overall at the league championship—that being the team’s best-ever placement since the NECC started in 2008. She was also selected by SVC head coach Kathleen Newton ‘04 as Southern Vermont’s representative on the NECC All-sportsmanship Team for the second year in-a-row—proving that she respects the sport and her opponents as well as being a great athlete.

To be eligible for the Mountaineer Scholar-athlete Award, a student-athlete must post a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.40 on a scale of 4.00 after the fall semester and must be a sophomore or higher in class standings. The laurel is not based solely on academic performance as it also focuses on the balance between student and athlete.

Borders’ impact on his team’s success was not always reflected in the box score but was surely noticed by his teammates, coaches, and the fans. He was a quiet leader for the men’s basketball team—running the point and helping facilitate the Mountaineers’ offense as SVC went back to its third-straight NECC championship game.

Lesure will end her Southern Vermont career with six NECC Academic All-Conference Team accolades, and she also earned her way to the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association 2016 Honor Roll. She currently has the 11th-best time in school history for a 6000 meter women’s cross country race, and she scored her 100th career goal this spring to help the women’s lacrosse team get back to the NECC playoffs for the third-consecutive season.

Scott McKenzie Sportsman of the Year
 – Zack Stacey (So. – Baseball)
Scott McKenzie Sportswoman of the Year – Shelby Whitman (Sr. – Women’s Cross Country & Outdoor Track & Field)

Mountaineer Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Josh Borders (So. – Men’s Basketball)
Mountaineer Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Emily Lesure (Sr. – Women’s Cross Country, Women’s Lacrosse)

Robert Consalvo Faculty Appreciation Award – Stacey Hills
Sue Lamontagne Staff Appreciation Award – Betsy Dunham


Southern Vermont College/Saint Joseph College Athletics Hall of Fame – Class of 2017
Erin Potter (McEnaney) ‘01
 – Women’s Cross Country
Nick Haggerty ‘12
 – Men’s Soccer, Men’s Volleyball

Southern Vermont 2016 Team Awards

Cy Young Award – Dylan Angelo
Most Outstanding Player – Zack Stacey
Silver Slugger Award – Anthony Mercuri

Men’s Basketball
Mountaineer Award – Nate Goldsmith
Hard Hat Award – Brandon Casella
Defensive Player of the Year – Davante Jordan

Women’s Basketball
Rookie of the Year – Taylor Mallett
Most Improved Player – Bree Soucy
Mountaineer Award – Amber Dow

Men’s Cross Country
Instant Impact Award – Davante Smith
Mountaineer Award – Corey Barcomb
Most Valuable Runner – Marc Brandmeyer

Women’s Cross Country
Most Improved Runner – Isabella Poulos
Mountaineer Award – Skye McGuire
Most Valuable Runner – Shelby Whitman

Women’s Lacrosse
Most Valuable Player – Mel Orrell
Most Valuable Player – Emily Lesure
Most Valuable Player – Lauren Nesshoever

Outdoor Track & Field
Most Improved Athlete – Morgan Arleth
Field Athlete of the Year – Jake Figueiredo
Mountaineer Award – Aden Fischer

Men’s Soccer
Most Valuable Player – Chris Jimenez
Coach’s Award – Taylor Baker

Women’s Soccer
Offensive Most Valuable Player – Molly Madore
Defensive Most Valuable Player – Jenna Rettell
Mountaineer Award – Sydnee Julian

Heart & Hustle Award – Taylor Jarosz
5-Tool Player Award – Shea Wilson
Silver Slugger Award – Nicole Matthews

Women’s Volleyball
Most Valuable Player – Brin Goldman
Mountaineer Award – Sarah Billow
Rookie of the Year – Tay Phillips