Four Plus Penrod Earn All NECC

Four Plus Penrod Earn All NECC

BENNINGTON, Vt.- Four Southern Vermont College Men's soccer players earned All-Conference honors Monday afternoon. Head Coach Tim Penrod, also was named Coach of the Year in his fifth season at the helm. Penrod led the Mountaineers to its first ever New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) regular season championship in 2011, and its second consecutive runner up finish in the conference tournament.

Freshman Erik Argueta (Pico Rivera, CA) was named NECC Rookie of the Year and a member of the second team. Argueta scored six goals and had five assists in his rookie season. For the third consecutive season, senior Nick Haggerty (Wynantskill, NY) was named a first team All-Conference member.  Haggerty scored 16 goals in his senior season, to move into second on the All-Time career points and goals list at SVC.

Haggerty was joined on the first team by Pierre Massena (Wayne, NJ) and Chris Hansen (Raymertown, NY). Massena was the Mountaineers second option throughout 2011 as he scored 10 goals. Hansen, a defender was also used in the attack and on set pieces. The junior had two goals and four assists for Southern Vermont.

Southern Vermont earned its first ECAC berth and will travel to Brandeis University on Wednesday at 7:00PM.

Player of the Year
Shaundize Moosavizadeh, Newbury (Jr, D - Winchester, Mass.)

Goalkeeper of the Year
Joe Keene, Daniel Webster (Sr, GK - Bristol, N.H.)

Rookie of the Year
Erik Argueta, Southern Vt. (Fr, C - Pico Rivera, CA)

Coach of the Year
Tim Penrod, Southern Vt.

Team Sportsmanship Award
Wheelock College

First Team
F Nick Haggerty, Southern Vt. (Sr, F - Wynantskill, NY)

F Aldo Karkanjozi, Becker (So,  F - )
F Pierre Massena, Southern Vt. (So, F - Wayne, NJ)
F Ali Sozeri, Lesley (So, F - Istanbul, Turkey)
M Alex Jackson, Daniel Webster (Sr, M - Kent, Ohio)
M Shaundize Moosavizadeh, Newbury (Jr, MF - Winchester, Mass.)
M Ari Sinanis, Lesley (Jr, MF - Guilford, CT)
D Christian Domingo, Lesley (Sr, D - Granada Hills, CA)
D Andrew Donovan, Daniel Webster (Sr, B - Milford, N.H.)
D Chris Hansen, Southern Vt.(Jr, D - Raymertown, NY)
GK Joe Keene, Daniel Webster (Sr, GK - Bristol, N.H.)

Second Team
F Spencer Bernard, Daniel Webster (Sr, F - Windsor Locks, Conn.)
F Josh Fidalgo, Regis (Mass.) (Sr, F - Dorchester, Mass.)
F James Gleason, Mitchell (Sr, F - Old Lyme, Conn.)
F Ziggy Jonathan, Elms (So, F - Springfield, Mass.)
F Tavish Leland, Elms (Jr, MF - Bridgton, Maine)
M Erik Argueta, Southern Vt. (Fr, C - Pico Rivera, CA)
M Michael Berthiaume, Mitchell (Jr, M - Brooklyn, Conn.)
M Marco Carvajal, Newbury (So, M - Marblehead, Mass.)
D Howie Johnson, Mitchell (Jr, D - New London, Conn.)
D Elliot Kilgore, Daniel Webster(Jr, B - Milford, N.H.)
D Conor Rieker, Elms (Fr, D - Agawam, Mass.)
GK Kevin Woodford, Mitchell (Sr, GK - Niantic, Conn.)

Honorable Mention
Brian Conway, Becker (Sr, D - Billerica, Mass.)
William McNally, Newbury (Sr, GK - Grafton, Mass.)
Max Perkins, Lesley (Sr, GK - Lexington, MA)
Ryan Rodgers, Lesley (Sr, MF - Hollis, NH)